Inspiration · MyWritingChallenge · NaNoWriMo · West Texas Writers' Academy · Word Count · Write-In · Writing · Writing Goals · Writing in Public · WTWA2019

WTWA2019 – Day 5

My writers trip is officially complete.

It was the last day of the West TX A&M dorm room life and the West TX Writers Academy today.

I wrote roughly 50,000 words in 5 days at #WTWA the West Texas Writers Academy week long conference.

In other words, I condensed the 50k word Nanowrimo month into a WEEK.

I spent the afternoon with an agent at the airport and she was a delight. She was saying how one of her authors wrote her first book in 4 weeks. I wonder what her days looks like and if I were to do that what would that consist of for me… no sleep probably and insane amounts of coffee.

Even with the extreme crazies of today… it was a wonderful week.

The RA at the dorms was precious, she made me smile every day I was there. She even gave me one of her paintings for my daughter when I left. Just absolutely one of those people that shine bright enough to make others glow too. #BuffHall

With only 500 words today, I still wrote 50,000 words this week. Someone said today they admire my work ethic… it made me feel great because I can’t lie it isn’t easy leaving the kids and husband to do this… or getting up before the sun on my days off to write before the kids wake. It’s challenging but it’s important to me so I make it work.

This week also made me appreciate home the lack of moths, mosquitos, and humidity Las Vegas life provides. I missed my family to pieces but am totally looking at ways to plan for next year’s trip.

#WTWA

Leave a comment